Language Arts

Language Arts

The Douglas County High School English Department offers a wide range of courses to help students develop their ability to read and analyze a variety of texts and to write and speak fluently.
All 9th and 10th grade students complete either English I and English II or English I Honors and English II Honors. These required, foundational courses embrace the philosophy of the IB Middle Years Program by developing students who engage in intellectual challenge, make
connections between their studies in traditional subjects and the real world, and develop skills for communication, intercultural understanding and global engagement. Students study literary classics and a range of modern writings from an international perspective.
Students focus on writing and speaking with clarity, coherence, and fluency as they explore significant literary works in all genres: short stories, poetry, novels, drama, and nonfiction.
Junior and Senior students have many English courses to choose from including Advanced Placement and International Baccalaureate Diploma Programme classes. Please see the Language and Literature section of the Academic Planning Guide on the DCHS home page for current offerings and descriptions of each course.

Stephanie Austgen
Stephanie Austgen

stephanie.austgen@dcsdk12.org

Ashley Bidinger
Ashley Bidinger

aebidinger@dcsdk12.org

Ken Borgsmiller
Ken Borgsmiller

Ken.Borgsmiller@dcsdk12.org

Hilary Bowlin
Hilary Bowlin

hlbowlin@dcsdk12.org

Ashley Clark Staff Photo
Ashley Clark

aclark1@dcsdk12.org

Kelsey Faletra
Kelsey Faletra

kjfaletra1@dcsdk12.org

Michelle Fleet
Michelle Fleet

Michelle.Fleet@dcsdk12.org

Julie Fletcher
Julie Fletcher

Julie.Fletcher@dcsdk12.org

Dawn Garrett
Dawn Garrett

dawn.garrett@dcsdk12.org

Jill Goeken
Jill Goeken

Jill.Goeken@dcsdk12.org

Elizabeth Johnson
Elizabeth Johnson

eajohnson@dcsdk12.org

Emily Kaska
Emily Kaska

emily.kaska@dcsdk12.org

Jason Parker
Jason Parker

Jason.Parker@dcsdk12.org

Rhonda Rowell
Rhonda Rowell

rhonda.rowell@dcsdk12.org