International Baccalaureate Diploma Programme (DP)

IB Programme

Dr. Steven Fleet, PhD Coordinator

303-387-1152

steven.fleet@dcsdk12.org

Kathy Kramer, IB Assistant

303-387-1008

Kathy.kramer@dcsdk12.org

====================================================

Welcome to the Douglas County High School International Baccalaureate Diploma Program Website

IB Learner Profile

The International Baccalaureate Organization aims to develop inquiring, knowledgeable and caring young people who help to create a better and more peaceful world through intercultural understanding and respect. To this end the IBO works with schools, governments and internationalorganizations to develop challenging programmes of international education and rigorous assessment.

These programmes encourage students across the world to become active, compassionate and lifelong learners who understand that other people, with their differences, can also be right.

IB learners strive to be:

Inquirers: They develop their natural curiosity. They acquire the skills necessary to conduct inquiry and research and show independence in learning.They actively enjoy learning and this love of learning will be sustained throughout their lives.

Knowledgeable: They explore concepts, ideas and issues that have local and global significance.In so doing, they acquire in-depth knowledge and develop understanding across a broad and balanced range of disciplines.

Thinkers: They exercise initiative in applying thinking skills critically and creatively to recognize and approach complex problems, and make reasoned, ethical decisions.

Communicators: They understand and express ideas and information confidently and creatively in more than one language and in a variety of modes of communication. They work effectively and willingly in collaboration with others.

Principled: They act with integrity and honesty, with a strong sense of fairness, justice and respect for the dignity of the individual, groups and communities. They take responsibility for their own actions and the consequences that accompany them.

Open-minded: They understand and appreciate their own cultures and personal histories, and are open to the perspectives, values and traditions of other individuals and communities. They are accustomed to seeking and evaluating a range of points of view, and are willing to grow from the experience.

Caring: They show empathy, compassion and respect towards the needs and feelings of others. They have a personal commitment to service, and act to make a positive difference to the lives of others and to the environment.

Risk-takers: They approach unfamiliar situations and uncertainty with courage and forethought, and have the independence of spirit to explore new roles, ideas and strategies. They are brave and articulate in defending their beliefs.

Balanced: They understand the importance of intellectual, physical and emotional balance to achieve personal well-being for themselves and others.

Reflective: They give thoughtful consideration to their own learning and experience. They are able to assess and understand their strengths and limitations in order to support their learning and personal development.


The International Baccalaureate Diploma Program at Douglas County High School would like to extend an invitation to students who believe that a better society results from an educational system that promotes academic rigor in an environment of intercultural respect. International Baccalaureate Diploma Program students must accept the challenge of a demanding curriculum while contributing to their high school environment as good students and great citizens.

Information meetings are typically scheduled for interested students and their parents in November and December. If you are in the eighth, ninth or tenth grade and would like to know more about this prestigious program, please plan to attend one of these meetings.

The application process begins in November for incoming ninth grade students, and will be completed in the month of January for all students interested in the IB program at DCHS.

Steve Arvidson
Stephen Arvidson -
Chemistry

Stephen.Arvidson@dcsdk12.org

Stephanie Austgen
Stephanie Austgen -
English Lang/Lit

saustgen@dcsdk12.org

Ashley Bidinger
Ashley Bidinger -
English Lang/Lit

Ashley.Bidinger@dcsdk12.org

Ben Brelje
Ben Brelje -
Business

bebrelje@dcsdk12.org

Julie Bruchs staff photo
Julie Bruchs -
Music

jnbruchs@dcsdk12.org

Laura Bush
Laura Bush -
Mathematics

Laura.Bush@dcsdk12.org

Kimberly Clever
Kimberly Clever -
Psychology, CAS/EE

Kimberly.Clever@dcsdk12.org

Michael Craven
Michael Craven -
History

Michael.Craven@dcsdk12.org

Ryan Davis
Ryan Davis -
Ceramics

ryan.davis1@dcsdk12.org

Jolene Dickerson
Jolene Dickerson -
Environmental Systems Societies (ESS)

jolene.dickerson@dcsdk12.org


Michelle Fleet
Michelle Fleet -
English Lang/Lit

Michelle.Fleet@dcsdk12.org

Steven Fleet
Steven Fleet -
IB Coordinator, Philosophy, TOK

Steven.Fleet@dcsdk12.org
303.387.1152

Lisa Gerios-Rohl
Lisa Gerios-Rohl -
Biology

Lisa.GeriosRohl@dcsdk12.org

Andrea Harrison
Andrea Harrison -
Mathematics

Andrea.Harrison@dcsdk12.org

Theresa Hemming
Theresa Hemming -
Biology

Theresa.Hemming@dcsdk12.org

Elizabeth Johnson
Elizabeth Johnson -
English Lang/Lit

eajohnson@dcsdk12.org

Karie Johnston
Karie Johnston - Theater

Karie.Johnston@dcsdk12.org

Kathy Kramer staff photo
Kathy Kramer -
IB Assistant

kskramer1@dcsdk12.org
303.387.1008

Matt Leach
Matt Leach -
Physics

mpleach@dcsdk12.org

Roger McKnight
Roger McKnight -
Computer Sciences

rwmcknight@dcsdk12.org
303.387.1138

Laurette Nassif
Laurette Nassif -
French

LNassif@dcsdk12.org
303.387.1138

Sarah Renshaw staff photo
Sarah Renshaw -
Jewelry

srenshaw@dcsdk12.org

Kelse Risner
Kelse Risner -
History, TOK

kwrisner@dcsdk12.org

Cindy Ross
Cindy Ross -
Photography

cindy.ross@dcsdk12.org
303.387.1063

Matthew Schreiner
Matthew Schreiner -
Mathematics

matthew.schreiner@dcsdk12.org

Brooke Speegle
Brooke Speegle -
Art Design

brooke.speegle@dcsdk12.org
303.387.1064

Richard Umbach
Richard Umbach -
TOK

rjumbach@live.com

Michael Vahle
Michael Vahle -
Theater, Video Productions

Michael.Vahle@dcsdk12.org
303.387.1217

Alex Villwock
Alexander Villwock -
Mathematics/Lit

Alexander.Villwock@dcsdk12.org

Wendi White
Wendi White -
Spanish

Wendi.White@dcsdk12.org